Album: New Moon Shine

"New Moon Shine" is the thirteenth studio album by American singer-songwriter James Taylor, launched in 1991. The album features a mix of Taylor's hallmark introspective ballads and more positive tunes with a touch of rock and blues. Produced by Don Grolnick, the 10-track album likewise includes contributions from a number of noteworthy musicians such as Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, and Pete Seeger. "New Moon Shine" received positive reviews from critics and peaked at number 37 on the Billboard 200 chart.

Background and Production
After the success of his 1988 album "Never Die Young", Taylor began dealing with the tunes for "New Moon Shine" in the early 1990s. The album was tape-recorded at The Power Station and The Hit Factory in New York City. Don Grolnick, a close friend and regular collaborator of Taylor, produced the album, and they were accompanied by a group of accomplished artists. These artists included bassist Jimmy Johnson, drummer Steve Gadd, keyboardist Clifford Carter, and guitar player John Tropea.

The recording procedure for "New Moon Shine" was smooth and relaxed, showing Taylor's close working relationship with Grolnick and the other musicians included. This method allowed for innovative freedom and assisted to catch the warm, organic noise of the album.

Music and Lyrics
"New Moon Shine" showcases a variety of musical designs, from introspective ballads to more positive tunes with rock and blues inflections. The opening track, "Copperline", co-written with Reynolds Price, is a sentimental reflection on Taylor's youth in North Carolina. "Down in the Hole" is an uptempo bluesy track, while "I Will Follow" is a genuine ballad that highlights Taylor's delicate vocals.

The lyrics throughout the album are reflective and thoughtful, often discussing styles of love, loss, and self-discovery. This is particularly obvious in the poignant tunes "Stop Thinkin' 'Bout That" and "Only One". Furthermore, Taylor commemorates two of his musical heroes, Sam Cooke and John Lennon, with covers of their tunes "A Change Is Gon na Come" and "Shed a Little Light", respectively.

Reception and Legacy
"New Moon Shine" received generally positive reviews from music critics upon its release. A number of customers applauded the album's warm, natural sound and Taylor's introspective songwriting. The album peaked at number 37 on the Billboard 200 chart and was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) for sales of over 500,000 copies.

In subsequent years, "New Moon Shine" has continued to be considered a strong entry in Taylor's discography. While it might not have actually been as commercially effective as his earlier albums, it demonstrated Taylor's ongoing evolution as a songwriter and artist.

James Taylor's "New Moon Shine" is a deeply introspective and musically differed album that showcases his special capability to blend styles and feelings. From nostalgic reflections on his past to genuine homages to his heroes, Taylor provides a peek into his soul with his signature storytelling and evocative vocals. Including top-notch production and a competent group of artists, "New Moon Shine" stands as a testimony to Taylor's enduring influence and enduring skill in the ever-changing landscape of popular music.

Artist: James Taylor

James Taylor James Taylor, the influential American singer-songwriter and guitarist, known for his warm baritone voice and unique fingerpicking style.
More about James Taylor

Other Albums by James Taylor