Album: Science Fair

" Science Fair" is the third studio album by Canadian singer-songwriter Emm Gryner, launched in 1999. The album marks a vital pivotal moment in Gryner's musical profession, as it was her very first release after parting methods with significant label Mercury Records. "Science Fair" is an indiepop album that showcases Gryner's varied musical impacts and her development as an artist. The album includes a mix of melodic pop, rock, and folk affects, with thoughtful lyrics and remarkable hooks, making it a standout offering in Gryner's discography.

Background and Production
After the release of her 1998 album "Public", Gryner discovered herself dealing with the restraints of working within the major label system. Disenchanted with the pressure to produce radio-friendly hits, Gryner chose to walk away from her agreement and forge her own course as an independent artist. This choice led to the production of "Science Fair", which was released under Gryner's own label, Dead Daisy Records.

" Science Fair" was taped in New York City and was produced by Emm Gryner herself, together with Chris Wardman, Joel Plaskett, and Peter Prilesnik. The album was blended by Michael Phillip Wojewoda and mastered by João Carvalho, with extra contributions from a range of talented artists, including Dave Draves (keyboards, backing vocals), Peter von Althen (drums), and Mark Mariash (percussion).

Album Artwork
The striking album art work for "Science Fair" was created by artist Chris Peters and includes a mix of lively images and scientific symbols. This thought-provoking cover art hints at the album's themes of exploration, growth, and the search for reality. The science fair principle acts as a metaphor for the wider journey that everyone launches in life, driven by curiosity and a desire to understand the world around them.

Track Listing and Themes
" Science Fair" includes 11 tracks, each of which showcases Gryner's considerable songwriting and vocal talents. The album is marked by its emotional depth and varied soundscapes, with components of pop, rock, and folk flawlessly woven together. Standout tracks consist of "Summerlong", "Stereo", and "Your Sort of Human Being", which encapsulate the album's themes of love, self-discovery, and the human experience.

1. Summerlong
2. Stereochrome
3. Your Sort of Human Being
4. Hello Earth
5. Boy Races
6. Wise Up
7. End of the World
8. Julia
9. Half Sorry
10. Acid
11. The Good You Make

Reception and Legacy
Upon its release, "Science Fair" received critical honor and assisted seal Gryner's track record as a competent and innovative singer-songwriter. Critics praised the album for its abundant, textured noise and its deeply individual lyrics, which resonated with listeners. "Science Fair" also marked the beginning of a successful profession as an independent artist for Gryner, who has continued to release music under her own label and construct a devoted fan base.

In the years given that "Science Fair", Emm Gryner has released numerous albums, each showcasing her growth as an artist and more expanding her musical combination. In spite of her prolific output, "Science Fair" stays an important release in Gryner's discography, with its remarkable melodies and wholehearted lyrics continuing to captivate listeners to this day.

Artist: Emm Gryner

Emm Gryner Emm Gryners inspiring life, featuring her collaboration with David Bowie, unique music, and meaningful quotes. Discover her journey in the music industry.
More about Emm Gryner

Other Albums by Emm Gryner