Album: More From Berlin

"More From Berlin" is a live album by the legendary American blues guitarist and singer, Luther Allison. Launched in 1990, this album records a phenomenal efficiency by Allison and atrioventricular bundle at the Quasimodo Club in Berlin, Germany, where they took the phase on May 19 and 20, 1989. The album features a mix of Allison's original compositions, covers of blues classics, and his signature soulful guitar work, rendering it a must-listen for blues enthusiasts.

Luther Allison, born in 1939 in Arkansas, was among the most successful blues musicians of his time. He honed his skills in the fertile Chicago blues scene of the 1950s and 1960s, ultimately finding success in Europe in the 1970s. By the late 1980s, Allison had become a mainstay on the worldwide blues circuit, understood for his passionate efficiencies, emotive singing, and innovative guitar work. "More From Berlin" functions as a testament to his tremendous skill, and it showcases an experienced performer at the height of his powers.

Track Listing
The album includes ten tracks that seamlessly blend a mix of blues sub-genres such as electrical blues, Chicago blues, and soul blues. The full tracklist consists of:

1. Backtrack (4:57).
2. Reaching Out (For Higher Ground) (4:44).
3. Love Me Mama (5:12).
4. Excitement Is Gone (5:50).
5. Simply Memories (5:40).
6. You Can't Always Get What You Want (6:39).
7. It Hurts Me Too (6:32).
8. Sweet Home Chicago (6:46).
9. Hit The Road Jack (3:45).
10. I Can't Quit You Baby (5:09).

From the opening notes of "Backtrack" to the emotional closing of "I Can't Quit You Baby", the album takes listeners on a journey filled with raw emotion, outstanding musicianship, and engaging storytelling.

Band Performance & Production
Throughout the recording, Luther Allison is backed by a tight ensemble of knowledgeable artists, featuring James Solberg on guitar, Ernest Williamson on keyboards, Dave Smith on bass, and Kennard Johnson on drums. The chemistry in between the performers is palpable, producing a dynamic and appealing live experience.

The album was produced by Jim Gaines, a well-known American music producer known for his deal with blues and rock artists such as Stevie Ray Vaughan and Santana. Gaines' knowledge is evident in the crisp, well-balanced sound of the album, expertly catching the essence of a live Luther Allison performance.

Reception & Legacy
"More From Berlin" was consulted with crucial honor upon its release, receiving appreciation for its impassioned efficiency, premium production, and strong tracklist. The album has actually because been considered as one of Luther Allison's finest live albums and works as an ultimate example of his remarkable talents as a blues artist.

Sadly, Luther Allison died in 1997 at the age of 57, but his legacy lives on through his substantial discography and the continued impact of his music on future generations of blues artists. With "More From Berlin", fans and newbies alike can experience the magic of Allison's art and immerse themselves in the soul-stirring world of blues.

Artist: Luther Allison

Luther Allison, his soulful guitar playing, and inspiring quotes. Experience the man behind the music.
More about Luther Allison

Other Albums by Luther Allison