Album: When My Heart Finds Christmas

" When My Heart Finds Christmas" is a holiday album by American singer, composer, and actor Harry Connick, Jr. Launched in 1993 by Columbia Records, it is Connick's very first Christmas album and his twelfth in general. The album features 14 tracks, with a mix of traditional holiday tunes and original structures by Connick. It quickly became a timeless vacation album, offering over 3 million copies in the United States alone and was certified triple-platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).

Background and Context
In the early 1990s, Harry Connick, Jr. was already an established artist with a number of effective albums, consisting of the Grammy Award-winning "We Are in Love" (1990). Nevertheless, he had yet to venture into the realm of vacation music. Recognizing the potential appeal of a Christmas album and influenced by his love for the festive season, Connick taped "When My Heart Finds Christmas" with his conventional jazz sensibilities.

The album was produced by Tracey Freeman, who had formerly worked with Connick on his acclaimed 1990 album "We Are in Love". It was recorded at Sony Music Studios in New York City, with Connick helped by a group of gifted artists, consisting of bassist Ben Wolfe, drummer Jeff "Tain" Watts, and the string orchestra conducted by Eileen Folson.

Track Listing
" When My Heart Finds Christmas" includes 14 tracks, offering both initial compositions by Connick and renditions of classic holiday tunes. The album's track listing is as follows:

1. Sleigh Ride
2. When My Heart Finds Christmas
3. (It Must Have Been Ol') Santa Claus
4. The Blessed Dawn Of Christmas Day
5. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
6. The Little Drummer Boy
7. Ave Maria
8. Parade Of The Wooden Soldiers
9. What Child Is This?
10. Christmas Dreaming
11. I Pray On Christmas
12. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
13. O Holy Night
14. What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?

Reception and Success
Upon its release, "When My Heart Finds Christmas" got usually favorable reviews from music critics. Many applauded the album's warm and relaxing environment, showcasing Connick's skillful piano playing, smooth vocals, and the competent plan of the string orchestra. Critics likewise appreciated the mix of standard vacation tunes, which were provided a fresh and lively touch by Connick, alongside his original structures.

The album's industrial success was excellent, debuting at number 10 on the Billboard 200 chart and peaking at number 1 on Billboard's Top Holiday Albums chart. It ended up being the very popular Christmas album in the United States for 1993 and ultimately sold over 3 million copies in the United States, earning the triple-platinum certification from the RIAA. The album's title track, "When My Heart Finds Christmas", likewise ended up being a popular holiday song in its own right and is now considered a contemporary classic.

Nearly three decades after its release, "When My Heart Finds Christmas" continues to be a precious and cherished holiday staple for numerous families. The album's mix of Harry Connick, Jr.'s distinct jazz-infused style, ageless vacation classics, and heartfelt initial compositions makes it a long-lasting favorite. It remains a must-listen album for fans of both vacation music and jazz, and its legacy is a testament to Connick's long-lasting musical skill and unique contributions to the world of Christmas music.

Artist: Harry Connick, Jr.

musician & actor Harry Connick Jr., featuring his biography, quotes, and achievements. Discover his journey from jazz prodigy to stardom.
More about Harry Connick, Jr.

Other Albums by Harry Connick, Jr.